* How long have you spent on the homework assignments? Did lecture and the reading prepare you for them?
I spend like 2 to 4 hours on the homework. On the last homework assignment, I did like 3 of the encryptions by hand which took quite a while, until I found out that I was allowed to use the applets, so the last homework assignment was like 5 or 6 hours :) So yeah, it varies, but it's good. Of course the lecture and reading prepare me for my homework. I always have my notes open and helping me through the homework. I love the examples that we get in lecture and in the books, they're great!
* What have you liked or disliked about the class thus far? What contributes most to your learning?
I have LOVED the class so far! It's so much fun, and so interesting!! It's like the first class that I've really look forward to every day! I love the lectures and the fun thing we learn. It's been a little harder lately with the DES stuff, but I think that just because up to then I was able to do everything by hand and crack the ciphers quite quickly, and the DES stuff just seems like it takes a little more time and thought. THe lectures and the reading both contribute to my learning. If I understand the reading, then that helps me a lot and the lectures just add to my understanding of it. If I don't understand the reading, then I depend a lot on the lectures to help me understand and to see examples so that I can really get it down.
* What do you think would help you learn more effectively or make the class better for you?
I think everything is going great. I think that you're doing the best you can and that it can't get better. The thing that would probably make it better and more effective for me would be to re-read the reading if I don't understand it, and write down the examples and take notes while I'm reading. I should do that so that I understand the lecture better.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment